SeeMore Theatre Package

Chicken Girl

rice & beans theatre presents:

Chicken Girl
May 24 - June 7, 2019
ANNEX, 823 Seymour St, Vancouver, BC

Running time: 85 mins

Why, indeed, did the chicken cross the road? Our titular character embarks on a surreal adventure to uncover the mystery surrounding the disappearance of her Uncle Chan. A homesick intergalactic rock star struggles to reconcile with their estranged family. An anxiety-ridden submariner recruits an anthropomorphic cat to settle an old score. Intertwining multilingual dialogue, flamboyant rock numbers, and idiosyncratic marine trivia, three magical worlds collide in front of our eyes as we contemplate the ideas of home, cultural identity, and point of our existence.

Written and directed by co-artistic director Derek Chan, whose multicultural aesthetic has been described by critics as "oddly compelling" and has a knack for making the audience feel "welcomed and comfortable in the hostile universe of [the plays he creates]," Chicken Girl is an unmissable experience dedicated to lovers of adventure and those of us who have been lost (and found) along the way. Chicken Girl is a rice & beans theatre production, developed as a company collaboration with Playwrights Theatre Centre, with support from the Canada Council for the Arts, the BC Arts Council, and the City of Vancouver.


Ticket prices (including all taxes and fees):
Regular: $30
Student/Senior/Artist/Underemployed: $20
Pay What You Can performances (May 28 & June 4): $10 online / PWYC at the door


This show is part of the SeeMore Theatre Series, a residency program funded by Vancouver Civic Theatres. When you buy tickets for all four shows in the Series, you’ll save automatically as the total package cost is only $79, less than $20 a ticket!

When & Where

ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, May 24
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, May 25
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, May 26
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Tuesday, May 28
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Wednesday, May 29
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Thursday, May 30
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, May 31
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, June 1
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, June 1
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, June 2
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Tuesday, June 4
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Wednesday, June 5
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Thursday, June 6
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, June 7
8:00 PM