SeeMore Theatre Package

Chicken Girl

rice & beans theatre presents:

Chicken Girl
May 24 - June 7, 2019
ANNEX, 823 Seymour St, Vancouver, BC

Running time: 85 mins

Chicken Girl follows the surreal adventures of a 24-hour Chinese fried chicken restaurant worker investigating the mysterious disappearance of her boss, Uncle Chan; a homesick intergalactic rock star drifting through space looking for his home planet; and a submariner embarking on a one-way pilgrimage to a legendary forest at the bottom of the sea with the help of a human-sized cat. Intertwining snappy dialogue, poetic ruminations, and flamboyant rock numbers, Chicken Girl is a vibrant reflection on the meaning of existence and an incantation to raise hope at times of colourlessness.

Written and directed by co-artistic director Derek Chan, whose multicultural aesthetic has been described by critics as "oddly compelling" and has a knack for making the audience feel "welcomed and comfortable in the hostile universe of [the plays he creates]," Chicken Girl is an unmissable experience dedicated to lovers of adventure and those of us who have been lost (and found) along the way. Chicken Girl is a rice & beans theatre production, developed as a company collaboration with Playwrights Theatre Centre, with support from the Canada Council for the Arts, the BC Arts Council, and the City of Vancouver.


Ticket prices (including all taxes and fees):
Regular: $30
Student/Senior/Artist/Underemployed: $20


This show is part of the SeeMore Theatre Series. When you buy tickets for all four shows in the Series, you’ll save automatically as the total package cost is only $79, less than $20 a ticket!

If you have a promotion code, please enter it below:

When & Where

ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, May 24
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, May 25
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, May 26
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, May 26
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Tuesday, May 28
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Wednesday, May 29
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Thursday, May 30
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, May 31
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, June 1
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Saturday, June 1
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, June 2
2:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Sunday, June 2
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Tuesday, June 4
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Wednesday, June 5
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Thursday, June 6
8:00 PM
ANNEX
Plenty of tickets
Friday, June 7
8:00 PM